Harboring a creative soul

purple_pen

This act–the writing–and its product–the raw, the whiny, the deeply personal–are usually reserved for the pages of my private journal. Yet I have been recently inspired by several creative beings, and one in particular, to let these thoughtforms see the light, nevermind their flaws. These creations, with their gnarled appearances and crooked ways, are beautiful in their raw honesty.

For better or worse, I cast them out into the world.

In my middle age I find a great deal of confusion resting on my mind and after a long period of couching my creative urges for other pursuits I have come to understand the importance of creative acts in my life. I have been writing in journals and diaries since I was a pre-teen and making art for at least as long. Writing and art-making open a conduit to my psyche, that finicky creature that glares and shouts at me from the haze of dreams only to recede and remain frustratingly unreachable in my waking hours. In my life I am barrelling forward, rushing from one idea to the next, seeking solace in the next creative recovery program, taking on the work and projects of others as my own, and trying things on to see if they fit. I tell myself these are needful acts, that I am gathering ways to myself, ways that will help me along on my quest for authenticity…

But I have a soul-hunger, and the deepening sense that I am on the verge of discovering something in myself, some truth or tool or revelation that will nourish my soul. I long to discover my own way of knowing Soul’s deepest desires.

If only I could be still. If only I could get down to the hard work, to committing to my own projects, to expressing my own ways. I don’t know why I am compelled to share these thoughts, or my creations. I suppose it could just be that I am trying on another way, taking on another project in hopes of satisfying the soul-hunger.

So, then, this project’s purpose is two-fold. First, I am writing and art-making in order to help peel away the layers shrouding the truth at my core. And second, I am sharing my works to connect with like-minded souls, and to engage in an open dialog about life as a creative being.

Else, why create at all?

 

Existentially yours,

Tam

8 thoughts on “Harboring a creative soul

  1. I absolutely love how you write & can’t wait to see more!

    It is human nature to question about our reality, our “reason for being”. The everlasting mystery that is the meaning of life. Finding purpose in our lives gives reason to believe every minute….every experience (good or bad) has value.

    So, ok; I too am facing existencial ponderings, and experiencing dilemas that are causing me to question everything I held true. And you know what? It’s freaking scary!

    You are brave for posting a blog, and in your braveness I find comfort.

    Thank you! Keep on being inspirational ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing, Iris! I appreciate that I have already made some impact in another person’s life; I don’t know how I got on for so long creating in my cave but I am happy to enter the light and find you waiting there. It gives me the buzz I need to continue sharing. Thank you 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I look forward to seeing what emerges in this creative space you’ve carved out. The world is at a bit of a crossroads, and I am certain that it will take art and humour and no small amount of love and caring to get us through. Whatever you contribute to that mix will be greatly appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment